Friday’s Feisty, Fabulous, and Fierce Female – Anne Shirley

This week’s feat619RpdGjmwLured female character is Anne Shirley from the Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery. I adore Anne (with an “e”) Shirley! She lives her life with such passion and honesty. Her imagination and individuality make her such a wonderful character. And her temper and frustrations are so vivid. Her desire to change and be something beyond herself is easy to relate to even if she
goes about it by stamping her feet and screaming.  I absolutely love the drama that she brings to life. It’s so outrageous and yet so fitting for her feisty personality. It is also really fun to see Anne come to life in the 1985 adaptation of the books, which is phenomenal!

I decided to choose Anne Shirley for today’s Feisty, Fabulous, and Fierce Female because she was one of my grandmother’s favorite characters.  I’ve been thinking about my grandmother a lot lately as she passed away last August. As a dedicated and very active children’s librarian, my grandmother couldn’t say enough positive things about the  Anne of Green Gables series. She always told me it was one of her favorite things to read. She is the reason why I started this blog because she was constantly encouraging me to write.  Though she passed away before I got back into writing, I know she would have been one of my biggest fans. As a Feisty, Fabulous, and Fierce Female herself, this one goes out to her! ❤

Feisty

“People laugh at me because I use big words. But if you have big ideas, you have to use big words to express them, haven’t you?”

Fabulous 

“I read in a book once that a rose by any other name would smell as sweet, but I’ve never been able to believe it. I don’t believe a rose WOULD be as nice if it was called a thistle or a skunk cabbage.”

Fierce

 “I’m not a bit changed–not really. I’m only just pruned down and branched out. The real ME–back here–is just the same.”

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Feisty, Fabulous, and Fierce Female – Anne Shirley

  1. I still watch the adaptation every time I have a chance. She is the kind of character that I think we all want to be. True to herself, someone who is not afraid to be different and to be passionat about life. Thank you for reminding me of her.

    Like

Leave a comment