Friday’s Feisty, Fabulous, and Fierce Female – Emily Elizabeth

51vSmXAoe7L

This week’s featured female character is Emily Elizabeth from Norman Bridwell’s Clifford the Big Red Dog series.

I was feeling very nostalgic today and started to think about my favorite books when I was growing up.  The Clifford book series stands out to me as one of my favorite children’s series. It’s about a young little girl whose little runt of a puppy grows into this insanely large dog. Far fetched, yes. Charming, even more so.

I love Emily Elizabeth.  Her adventures with Clifford, who is not only her dog but her best friend, show her independence and excitement for life.  Her love and devotion for her furry friend can be seen in the very first story where she stands her ground in keeping Clifford even though he is too big for their house. She is a feisty, fabulous, and fierce female role model for young people as she sticks to her beliefs, has strong morals, and is loyal in her love of her unconventional best friend.

Feisty, Fabulous, & Fierce

“One day I gave Clifford a bath. And I combed his hair and took him to the dog show. I’d like to say Clifford won first prize…but he didn’t. I don’t care. You can keep all your small dogs. You can keep all your black, white, brown, and spotted dogs. I’ll keep Clifford…Wouldn’t you?”

One thought on “Friday’s Feisty, Fabulous, and Fierce Female – Emily Elizabeth

Leave a comment